Boards, Commissions and Committees

Civil Service Commission

Committee Civil Service Commission
Enabling Legislation County Charter section 44; Fresno Co. Ord. Code section 2.60 and 3.08.010
Membership Five Members
Term Specifications Term of office of each commissioner shall coincide with the term of the respective members of the member of the Board of Supervisors who nominated him or her. Any appointments to fill a vacancy shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term.
Compensation $75 per day plus mileage
Duties Determine employee representation units; call for and declare results of representation elections; certify and de-certify employee organizations; hear and decide appeals regarding assignment of new classifications to representation units; hear and adjudicate complaints of unfair employee relations practices; hear disciplinary grievances; hear appeals to employment selection and job classification matters; support the County Affirmative Action Program.
Qualifications 1. Must be an elector of Fresno County (registered to vote) 2. Hold no other public office of profit 3. Each Supervisor shall nominate one person to serve on the Commission 4. Each nominee must appointed by the affirmative vote of a majority of the Board of Supervisors 5. No Commissioner who has served any portion of two successive four terms shall be eligible for reappointment until a full four year term has elapsed since the expiration of his or her last term.
Meeting Schedule At least once a month, or more as directed by chair
AB 1234 Ethics Training Pursuant to Government Code Section 53235, if any local agency provides any type of compensation, salary, or stipend to a member of a legislative body or provides reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses incurred by a member of a legislative body in the performance of official duties, then all agency officials shall receive training in ethics.
Oath of Office Required
Statement of Economic Interests (Form 700) Required
Contact Charlene Moreno (559) 600-1833
P.O. Box 1962 Fresno, CA 93718


Position Members Appointed Date Term Expires Districts
Commissioner Nilmeier, Leland 1/29/2019 1/3/2023 District 1
Commissioner Riojas, Chuck 3/28/2017 1/4/2021 District 2
Commissioner Flores, Frank 9/12/2017 1/4/2021 District 3
Commissioner Whiteside, Tom (Term Expired) 4/7/2015 1/7/2019 District 4
Commissioner Leist, William Jay 2/28/2017 1/4/2021 District 5